Are you trying to scrounge up dinner?  Do you have some leftover side dishes but it’s not enough to constitute a good meal?  Do you always keep some chicken breasts frozen in the freezer?  Well my friend, congratulations, dinner is served:

Easy Peasy Chicken Piccata Recipe

  • YIELD: 4 servings
  • TOTAL: 36 MINUTES
Ingredients
  • 2 (8-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons Grapeseed Oil
  • 1/2 cup sauvignon blanc or other crisp, tart white wine
  • 1/2 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 T Lemon juice
  • 1 T ghee
  • 2 tablespoons capers, rinsed and drained
  • 2T chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
Preparation
  • 1. Split chicken breast halves in half horizontally to form 4 cutlets. Place each cutlet between 2 sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap; pound each cutlet to 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or small heavy skillet. Sprinkle cutlets evenly with salt and pepper.
  • 2. Pour 1-2 T of Grapeseed Oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add cutlets to pan, and sauté 2 minutes. Turn cutlets over; sauté for 1 minute. Remove the cutlets from pan. Tent chicken with foil and keep warm.
  • 3. Add wine to pan, and bring to a boil, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Cook for 1 minute.  Stir in chicken broth. Stir in lemon juice.  Simmer until broth mixture is reduced to about 1/2 cup. Remove pan from heat.
  • 4. Add ghee.  Add capers and fresh parsley. Serve sauce over chicken.

This recipe is a very slightly modified version of this one, courtesy of Julianna Grimes, Cooking Light
MARCH 2011

July 10, 2011. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Janelle replied:

    Erica, I love all your great recipes. I was stopping by to see your latest creation, when a question about oil came to mind. I see that you use grapeseed oil in this recipe. I know you have allergies to certain types of oil. Can you explain why you chose grapeseed oil for this recipe?

    I’m trying to do a little refining /cleaning out of my oil cabinet. I’ve read that canola oil is highly processed. In an effort to eat minimally to zero processed foods, I’ve tried removing this from my diet.

    Thoughts? Maybe you should do a post on oils. Call it the “skinny on oils”. OK that sounds a little cheesy. Keep up the great recipes!

    • CkAllergenFree replied:

      Hey Janelle,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Funny you should subscribe now that I’m super slacker, thanks to a busy summer in real estate. Great idea re: the oil article. I do know that even though everyone is always cooking with olive oil, it doesn’t have the highest smoke point in the world. Grapeseed’s is higher from what I recall, so when you’re more or less frying in the pan it is good. When things go past their smoke point they essentially go rancid and have toxic effects on the body from what I know, so it is good to avoid. I also use grapeseed as not to create a sensitivity, since I rely on olive oil all to often. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI